Old Bill of the Order Awards

The Old Bill of the Order is appointed annually by the Full National Executive. The position is an honorary position, and the holder of this award, may be invited to take the chair at the Annual General Meeting of MOTH General Headquarters. On completion of his term of office as Old Bill of the Order , he may continue to wear the precious metal badge (Gold Tin Hat), for the rest of his life.


Old Bill of the Order – James Stoffberg

Moth James Stoffberg joined the M.O.T.H. in April 1977 when he was inducted into Four Corner Shellhole in Port Elizabeth as one of the early ‘Border Boys’ to join the Order.

In 1982 he became the Shellhole Old Bill of Four Corner and remained in that position until 1986 when he had to leave that position to take up his new task of being the District Old Bill of the then Port Elizabeth District Dugout. He remained as District Old Bill until 1988. In 1989 he was elected as Deputy Old Bill of the then Winston Churchill Provincial Dugout (Cape Eastern) until 1991 at which time he became the Provincial Old Bill of Winston Churchill Provincial Dugout. He remained in that position until 1994. Moth James was awarded the Certificate of Comradeship in 1994 and the Certificate of Excellent Service in 1999.

During his term as the Deputy Provincial Old Bill, he became a member of Prince Alfred Shellhole after the closure of Four Corner Shellhole, where he remained until 2007.

Moth James was elected onto the National Executive in 1999 and remained a dedicated member of that Executive until for health reasons, he stepped down in 2016. While Moth James was serving on the National Executive, he was awarded the Certificate of Merit in 2007.

During his term on the National Executive, he witnessed the selling of the P. E. MOTH Club in Bird Street which led to his Shellhole Old Bill deciding to close Prince Alfred Shellhole. It was then in 2007 that he joined Comrades Shellhole, now known as Comrades Algoa Shellhole.

Moth James was always involved with something to do with the MOTH and has always been willing to serve on other committees such as the MESCA Port Elizabeth Unit and as Pay Bill of Comrades Algoa Shellhole.

On numerous occasions the Provincial Dugout have called on James for assistance and guidance with his vast wealth of experience in matters relating to the MOTH. He has never failed to come forward with that assistance. Until his health really got too much for him he used to travel with the Provincial Dugout to all the Districts and the outlying Shellholes that were visited by the Dugout. His dedication to the MOTH has made him a well-known figure within the Province, with many a question being asked after his well-being.

When the Eastern Cape Province was formed with the amalgamation of Border & Transkei and the Cape Eastern, James was always there with his hands-on approach assisting with the procedures that had to implemented right from the negotiation stages. The outcome of this exercise resulted in the formation of four Districts within the Province.

Southern Kwazulu Natal Provincial Dugout had James as their mentor and this task he took to heart, and as with everything else James does, he did it with great diligence and gave his 100% always.

Moth James has also had his share of dealing with the overseeing, and or, advising on various disciplinary committees all over the Country during his tenure in Senior Office. He has always carried out those tasks with the utmost diligence and upholding the integrity of the MOTH was, and is always, foremost in every aspect of James’s duties.

It is for these reasons the Eastern Cape Provincial Dugout Proudly nominate Moth James Benjamin Carl Stoffberg as the Old Bill of our Order for 2017 / 2018.

Click on photos to enlarge



W. Mc Craw 1954/1955 Transvaal Durban
W.J. Swanson 1955/1956 Cape Western Windhoek
E. Lambert 1956/1957 S.Rhodesia Command Livingstone
J. Irvine Crawford 1957/1958 Gen.Sec. Moth Ghq Bloemfontein
W.J. Webb 1958/1959 Orange Free State East London
S.B. Barrington 1959/1960 Border & Transkei Simonstown
W.A. Beattie 1960/1961 Transvaal Pietersburg
R.W. Cahill 1961/1962 N And S Rhodesia Salisbury
W.E. Vincent 1962/1963 Northern Cape Kimberley
J.D. Farrell 1963/1964 Cape Midlands Paarl
T.L. Serfontein 1964/1965 Swa Command Windhoek
D.W.J. Fanning 1965/1966 Cape Eastern Port Elizabeth
C.W.W. Page 1966/1967 Natal Pietermaritzburg
H. Austin 1967/1968 Southern Transvaal Mafeking
F.G. Richings 1968/1969 Cape Western Cape Town
G.L.A. Dunning 1969/1970 Natal Johannesburg
A. Cockburn 1970/1971 Rhodesia East London
W. Cullen 1971/1972 Cape Western Bloemfontein
C. Cowley 1972/1973 Natal Pretoria
H.A. Levy 1973/1974 Natal Moth Ghq Belville
P. Warman 1974/1975 Cape Western Kimberley
A. Coutts 1975/1976 Transvaal Windhoek
M. Nathan 1976/1977 Southern Transvaal Bulawayo
C.R. Stanistreet
F.L. Van Hasselt 1977/1978 Natal Durban
L.F. Smith Cape Western
N.E. Padwick 1978/1979 England Command Port Elizabeth
S.J. Beukes 1979/1980 Border & Transkei Cape Town
W.J. Paris 1980/1981 Cape Midlands Germiston
E. Eloff 1981/1982 Orange Free State Bloemfontein
G. Russell 1982/1983 Cape Western East London
J.H. Loots 1983/1984 Transvaal Kimberley
E.E. Milford 1984/1985 Natal Durban
J. De Kock 1985/1986 Frontier Belville
E.V.H. Corbishley 1986/1987 Natal Durban
R.F. Bingham 1987/1988 Transvaal Port Elizabeth
H. Turner 1988/1989 England Johannesburg
R.H. Stuart 1989/1990 Southern Transvaal Durban
E.F. Simpson 1990/1991 Transvaal Durban
K.H.F. Harris 1991/1992 Southern Transvaal Durban
L.V. Horton 1992/1993 Natal Durban
A. Wray 1993/1994 Cape Eastern/Natal Durban
M.R. Mortlock 1994/1995 Transvaal Durban
R.R. Macgregor 1995/1996 Natal Durban
E.J. Hills 1996/1997 Natal Durban
P.E. Coltman 1997/1998 Southern Transvaal Durban
I. Mc Call-Peat 1998/1999 Cape Eastern Durban
J.R. Jenkins 1999/2000 Transvaal Durban
C.J.W. Northcote 2000/2001 Natal Durban
H.J. Kokott 2001/2002 Cape Midlands Durban
D.H. Charles 2002/2003 Natal Durban
S.G. Brown 2003/2004 Southern Transvaal Durban
K. Brusser 2004/2005 KZN Durban
D.C.D. Gush 2005/2006 Transvaal Durban
D. Watt-Pringle 2006/2007 Free State Durban
C.J.C. Aucamp 2007/2008 KZN Durban
T. Brook 2008/2009 Platinum Durban
O. Grinaker 2009/2010 Eastern Cape Durban
H.J. Wantenaar 2010/2011 KZN Durban
B.S. Michler 2011/2012 Platinum Durban
T Munnik 2012/2013 KZN Durban
M Soutter 2013/2014 Eastern Cape Durban
N Edwards 2014/2015 KZN Durban
M Adrain 2015/2016 KZN Durban
A Boden 2016/2017 Platinum Durban
J. Stoffberg 2017/2018 Eastern Cape Durban