Eastern Cape Provincial Dugout


East London District Dugout

Buffalo-Dexie Executive for 2020-2021

Old Bill Jannie Bezuidenhout, Wee Bill Chris Becker, Adjutant Raoul Petzer. Pay Bill Stoffel Fourie was unable to attend.

3rd Generation Parade. East London District. We will remember them

 Weekend Away Draw

Trennery’s Resort generously donated a weekend away which was raffled at the recent Biker’s Breakfast hosted by Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole.

SADFA Emonti chair, Elize Rogers, drew the winning ticket at the Shellhole meeting on 8 June 2021.
Congratulations to winner Warren Nienaber.

Bikers’ Breakfast  9 May 2021.

Buffalo-Dixie hosted a very successful Bikers’ Breakfast on Sunday 9 May 2021.
After meeting at East London Cenotaph, the procession moved to the MOTH Hall in Cambridge.
Special thank you from Buffalo-Dixie, Old Bill Jannie Bezuidenhout and CLA for the support.

Veterans who are not MOTH, Buffalo-Dixie extends an invitation to join with us. 2nd Tuesday of each month. 1900 for 1930. MOTH Hall Cambridge.

MOTH’s Deon DuPreezand Eugene Knoetze welcome aspiring members for East London chapter of MMA.

Tuesday 13 April 2021

At the Buffalo-Dixie meeting on Tuesday 13 April 2021, Gary Wild was inducted into the Order.

MOTH Ian Tarr received his 10 year tie and X-badge.


Quiz Evening Friday 09 April 2021

Buffalo-Dixie hosted a quiz evening, with potjie curry and rice supper on Friday 09 April 2021.

A special commendation to chefs Frank Bowles & Stoffell Fourie, who remembered that an army marches on its stomach and ensured that the blokes were enthusiastically prepared for a route march.

The 9 quiz teams were De La Salle A and B, Port Rex, Buffalo Bowlers, The Dream Team, The Good The Bad & The Thirsty, Legacy, The Gypsies and the Magnificent 4.

Quizzmaster Chris Becker limited the rules to 2: Rule 1 – the quizzmaster is always right.  Rule 2 – if in doubt, refer to rule 1.

Port Rex won by won point while The Gypsies fought a valiant rearguard action.  Buffalo Bowlers and De La Salle B tied for follow up.  A wildcard tiebreak placed De La Salle B second and Buffalo Bowlers third.

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole Stall Day – March 2021


In spite of lockdown restrictions and competition, the Buffalo-Dixie stall day succeeded in bringing MOTH’s and supporters together and raising funds for Shellhole, District and the stallholders.

Congratulations to all involved in planning & execution for a job well done.

Installation of Adjutant and Awards – 9 March

At the Buffalo-Dixie meeting of 9 March 2021, MOTH Haldane Cunningham was installed as Adjutant.  East London District Wee Bill Brent Davis officiated

MOTH Trevor King received his X-Badge. MOTHs Dave Rankin and Jannie Bezuidenhout received 5 year ties.


Installation of 3 new members.

Buffalo Dixie welcome this following 3 new members, who as a result of the Covid-19 where installed via Whatsapp on the 14th December 2020.

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole bowls day, Saturday 21 November 2020.

October 2019 Meeting

October was a busy night.

Frank Bowles & Dean Davidson were inducted into the Order.

MOTH Peter Wheller received his 30 year tie.
Old Bill Claude Hundermark received his 10 year badge.
MOTHs Danny Saayman, Brett Marshall & Dave Rankin received 5 year badges.

MOTHs Danny Saayman, Mark Hodgkinson & Brett Marshall were acknowledged for
service on the executive.

Golf Day

Buffalo-Dixie Play Bill, Don Ladwig, organised a golf day at Python Park, East London. In spite of the unrelenting rain, the blokes turned out to support

10 September 2019

Peter Knicklebein and Roelf Venter were inducted at the meeting of Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole on Tuesday 10 September 2019

4th August 2019

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole hosted a bowls day at Typos Bowling Club on Sunday 4 August 2019. Regrettably Sir Francis Drake was booked for the Armada Regatta and could not compete.

9 July 2019 – AGM

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole held its AGM on Tuesday 09 July 2019.  East London District Old Bill Ray Glover officiated at the induction of the new executive.  Elected to office are: Old Bill Claude Hundermark; Wee Bill Jannie Bezuidenhout; Adjutant Raoul Petzer (unable to attend meeting due to work commitments) and Pay Bill Stoffel Fourie.

9 July 2019

Andrew Gradwell was inducted at a meeting of Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole on Tuesday 09 July 2019.  East London District Old Bill Ray Glover officiated.

13th February 2018

MOTH Brett Sharp and Social Member Trevor Phillips were inducted into Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole on Tuesday 13 February 2018

Tuesday 12th December 2017

Last meeting of the year plus the induction of Shane Rademan

Tuesday 10 October 2017

MOTH Roual Petzer and Social Member Stoffel Fourie inducted into  Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole.

MOTH Chris Becker was inducted at the Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole meeting of 12
September 2017. District Old Bill Ken Scott officiated.


30 Years Down the line:

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole was established on 6 September 1987.

At the monthly meeting held on Tuesday 12 September, the Blokes celebrated 30 years of True Comradeship, Mutual Help and Sound Memory.

Shortly before the meeting commenced, Old Bill Claude Hundermark congratulated Kevin Connellan on winning the Buffalo-Dixie Key Draw, which fundraising effort has kept the eager punters on their toes for many months.

East London District Old Bill Ken Scott officiated at the induction of newest member, Chris Becker.  Longest serving Buffalo-Dixie member, MOTH Peter Wheller, provided a short historical narrative when he displayed the certificate of competency won by Buffalo-Dixie at the MOTH 21st National Bowls Tournament which took place in Pietermaritzburg  in 1991.

At the end of the meeting the Blokes posed for a group photo before the customary toasts and a selection of snacks


Front L-R: R. Arnott; M. Cock; Pay Bill B. Marshall; Old Bill C. Hundermark; District Old Bill K. Scott; Wee Bill J. Bezuidenhout; Adjutant D. Saayman; P. Wheller; S/Major C. Maroulis Middle L-R: A. Louw; M. Hodgkinson; K. Schenk; D. Williamson; D. Rankin; B. Davis; A. van Stratten; H. Cunningham; D. Toyk; G. Smith; R. McIntyre; J. Swartz Back L-R: W. McKay; N. Karshagen; I. Tarr; W. Lynch; T. King; J. Neethling; R. Beling; D. Du Preez; C. Becker; A. van der Heever


New Exec being inducted 11th July 2017

Induction of Gary Smith 9 May 2017.07.12

Induction of David Williamson  into the the MOTH

Induction of 2 new Moths

Greg Moon and Deon du Preez were inducted into Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole on
Monday 13 February 2017.
Although meetings are normally on the second Tuesday, this year that date
falls on Valentine’s Day. A strategic decision was made.



Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole open meeting on Tuesday 12 December 2016.

We were pleased to welcome 5 new members: MOTH Apie van Straaten (previously
of Aliwal North); Social Member John Swartz and new MOTHs Raymond Beling,
Keith Schenk and Robert MacIntyre.

On the recruiting front, 2016 has been a very good year and we already have
applications for 2017.

On behalf of Buffalo-Dixie, a blessed Christmas and a prosperous 2017 to all
MOTHs and their families.

AGM Meeting 2016

Buffalo-Dixie Shellhole held its AGM on Tuesday 12 August 2016. In the Old Bill’s report it was noted that the Shellhole has been active and is steadily growing with recruits in the wings. The incoming executive were inducted by East London District Old Bill, Ken Scott.

1. Incoming East London District Old Bill, Ken Scott, inducting the Buffalo-Dixie executive

2. Sergeant-Major Chris Maroulis, Pay Bill Brett Marshall, Adjutant Danny Saayman, Wee Bill Jannie Bezuidenhoudt, Old Bill Claude Hundermark

3. East London District Sergeant Major Maurice Abrams keeping a watchful eye on proceedings.
4. Old Bill Claude Hundermark
5. Wee Bill Jannie Bezuidenhoudt
6. Adjutant Danny Saayman
7. Pay Bill Brett Marshall
8. Sergeant Major Chris Maroulis
9. Introducing the newly inducted executive.
10. At ease. Draw rations.
11. Guarding against dehydration.